India and ICC World T20 champion England are in Group ‘A' of the 2012 edition of tournament to be held in Sri Lanka from September 18 to October 7.

India begins its quest for the title at Colombo on September 19 against a second qualifier. It will face Stuart Broad's England on September 23 at the same venue — R. Premadasa stadium.

The ICC announced the match schedule and unveiled the event logo of the World Twenty20 at a function here on Wednesday. “Following the legacies and success of the World Cup, I am confident that Sri Lanka will deliver another world class event,” said ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat.

The tournament opens with Sri Lanka playing Zimbabwe in the southern port city of Hambantota on September 18. Sri Lanka takes on South Africa on September 22 at the same venue.

2009 champion Pakistan has been grouped with New Zealand and Bangladesh. Pakistan and India are expected to meet in the Super Eight stage of the tournament on September 30 in Colombo.

The business end of the Cup — Super Eight stage — will be held between September 27 and October 2. The semifinals will be held on October 4 and 5 and the finals on October 7.

Australia will begin its campaign to take home the one trophy it is yet to lift in Colombo on September 19, against a qualifier. The two qualifying teams will be selected from the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2012 tournament which will be held in UAE from March 13 to 24.

The women's World Cup will also be held alongside. The women's T20 semifinals and finals coincide with the men' and will be at the same venue, ahead of the men's game.

The groupings: Men: Group A: England, India, Qualifier 2; Group B: Australia, West Indies, Qualifier 1; Group C: Sri Lanka, South Africa, Zimbabwe; Group D: Pakistan, New Zealand, Bangladesh.

Women: Group A: Australia, India, England, Qualifier 1; Group B: New Zealand, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Qualifier 2.

More In: Cricket | Sport