HPCL downed Super Stars by two wickets after medium pacer K. Srinivasa Rao took five for 49, in a first round match of the annual The Hindu Trophy prize money cricket tournament at the Zinc stadium here on Sunday.

Dheeraj remained not out on 58 after S. Rajasekhar scored 91 for HPCL, D.V. Appa Rao's allround show went in vain for Super Stars.

In another interesting match, Eastern Naval Command edged out County CC by two wickets at the Ukku stadium.

The scores: County CC 191 in 45.1 overs (M. Leelaprasad Yadav 56, K. Harish 55, Kamilla 26, Mitrawall three for 15) lost to Eastern Naval Command 192 for eight in 46 overs (Prasanth Kumar 39, M. Raju 32).

Super Stars C.C. 281 in 47.2 overs (D.V. Appa Rao 92, P. Trinadh 65, S.V.R. Kiran 44, K. Srinivasa Rao five for 49) lost to HPCL 284 for eight in 42.1 overs (S. Rajasekhar 91, Abhishek Singh 64, Dheeraj 58 n.o., D.V. Appa Rao three for 62).

More In: Cricket | Sport