The match between Kerala and Gujarat, affected by rain, ended in a draw after play was stopped due to bad light on day two of the third round of the Buchi Babu all-India invitation tournament on Saturday.

Chasing 388, Gujarat would have been disappointed by the outcome as it had scored 387 for nine in 79.4 overs when play was halted.

So near yet so far

Even four points (for a win) at that stage wouldn’t have helped Gujarat.

It had to accomplish the target in 78.5 overs to better Kerala’s net run-rate to qualify for the quarterfinals. Opener Sameet Gohil (167, 194b, 20x4, 2x6) and Mandeep Juneja (61) fought bravely, adding 143 for the second wicket.

The efforts went in vain as Karnataka and Kerala made it to the last eight stage from Group ‘D’.

There was heartbreak for TNCA XI as well after it failed to convert a position of strength into victory against Mumbai in a virtual pre-quarterfinal clash. Set a target of 367, TNCA XI lost by three runs.

Karthick, Kaushik shine

The team began strongly with K.B. Arun Karthick (105, 126b, 15x4) and M. Kaushik Gandhi (111, 171b, 12x4, 1x5) amassing 194 for the second wicket.

Kaushik and B. Indrajith (86) then forged a 75-run alliance for the fourth wicket. But, TNCA XI, which was 298 for four at one stage, couldn’t quite finish it off.

Seamer Pratik Dabholkar claimed three wickets for Mumbai.

TNCA President’s XI registered a 90-run win over Saurashtra, which finished with 297 for five.

Skipper Jaydev Shah (70) and Chirag Pathak (61) were the chief contributors.

Openers Faiz Fazal (103, 151b, 16x4) and Aman Sharma (106, 93b, 15x4, 4x6) added 168 to propel Vidarbha to a six-wicket win over Assam, which scored 244.

The quarterfinal matches will be played on Monday and Tuesday.

The scores (third round):

Group ‘B’: Mumbai 366 for nine in 90 overs bt TNCA XI 363 in 85.2 overs (K.B. Arun Karthick 105, M. Kaushik Gandhi 111, B. Indrajith 86). Points: Mumbai 4 (4), TNCA XI 0 (0).

Group ‘C’: TNCA President’s XI 387 for five in 90 overs bt Saurashtra 297 for five in 90 overs (Sagar Jogiyani 47, Chirag Pathak 61, Jaydev Shah 70). TNCA President’s XI 4 (12), Saurashtra 0 (8).

Group ‘C’: Assam 244 in 87.5 overs lost to Vidarbha 245 for four in 44.4 overs (Faiz Fazal 103, Aman Sharma 106). Vidarbha 4 (4), Assam 0 (0).

Group ‘D’: Kerala 387 for six in 90 overs drew with Gujarat 387 for nine in 79.4 overs (Sameet Gohil 167, Mandeep Juneja 61, Akshar Patel 43). Kerala 1 (5), Gujarat 1 (1).


SportsMay 14, 2012

More In: Cricket | Sport | Chennai