Sport » Cricket

Updated: January 2, 2013 23:58 IST

Charlotte, Mithali set for World Cup highs

G. Viswanath
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
Indian women's cricket team captain Mithali Raj. File photo
The Hindu
Indian women's cricket team captain Mithali Raj. File photo

The ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 to be played in Mumbai from January 31 to February 17 will create a handful of milestones. Matches will be played at the Wankhede Stadium, Brabourne Stadium, Bandra-Kurla-Complex MCA Recreation Centre ground and MIG, Bandra. The final will be played at the Brabourne.

According to an ICC Press release, England’s Charlotte Edwards will play her fifth World Cup. She was the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year 2008. She has played in 160 one-day internationals, scored 4783 runs and is the third highest run getter in women’s cricket after Australia’s Belinda Clark and Karen Rolton. New Zealand’s Debbie Hockley and England’s Clare Taylor have played in five World Cups.

India’s star player Mithali Raj - she has been named captain - will be playing her fourth World Cup. She has scored 4,490 runs in limited over internationals.

The first Women’s World Cup was held in England in 1973. England, Australia, India and New Zealand have organised the competition two times each, South Africa, once and the ICC came to the picture in 2009.

England’s Janette Brittin and Jane Smit, Australia’s Zoe Goss, Sharon Tredrea, Belinda Clark, Cathryn Fitzpatrick and Karen Rolton, Ireland’s Miriam Grealey, India’s Anju Jain and Anjum Chopra and New Zealand’s Catherine Campbell have played in four World Cups.

Those who will be playing their third World Cup are Australia’s Alex Blackwell and Lisa Sthalekar, England’s Katherine Brunt, Lydia Greenway and Jenny Gunn, India’s Jhulan Goswami, South Africa’s Susanna Benade, Cri-Zelda Brits and Shandre Fritz, West Indies’ Anisa Mohammed and Sri Lanka’s Sripali Weerakkody and Shashikala Siriwardena.

The West Indies’ Knight twins from Barbados -- Kycia and Kyshona - will become the second twins after Australia Alex and Kate Blackwell, to play in a World Cup competition.

Teams for the World Cup:

AUSTRALIA – Jodie Fields (captain), Alex Blackwell (vice-captain), Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Holly Ferling, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Lisa Sthalekar, Elyse Villani.

ENGLAND – Charlotte Edwards (captain), Jenny Gunn (vice-captain), Tammy Beaumont, Arran Brindle, Katherine Brunt, Holly Colvin, Georgia Elwiss, Lydia Greenway, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Heather Knight, Laura Marsh, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor, Danielle Wyatt.

INDIA – Mithali Raj (captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Ekta Bisht, Amita Dass, Jhulan Goswami, Karuna Jain, Reema Malhotra, Mona Meshram, Thirushkamini Murugesan, Sulakshana Naik, Niranjan Nagarajan, Rasnara Parwin, Poonam Raut, Shubh Lakshmi Sharma, Gouher Sultana.

NEW ZEALAND – Suzie Bates (captain), Amy Satterthwaite (vice-captain), Kate Broadmore, Nicola Browne, Rachel Candy, Sophie Devine, Natalie Dodd, Lucy Doolan, Sara McGlashan, Frances Mackay, Morna Nielsen, Katie Perkins, Rachel Priest, Sian Ruck, Lea-Marie Tahuhu.

PAKISTAN – Sana Mir (captain), Bismah Maroof (vice-captain), Nain Abidi, Sidra Amin, Diana Baig, Elizebath Barkat, Nahida Bibi, Qanita Jalil, Asmavia Iqbal Khokhar, Syeda Batool Fatima Naqvi, Nida Rashid, Rabiya Shah, Sumaiya Siddiqui, Javeria Wadood, Sadia Yousaf.

SOUTH AFRICA – Mignon du Preez (captain), Trisha Chetty (vice-captain), Susanna Benade, Cri-Zelda Brits, Thandile Cordes, Dinesha Devnarain, Shandre Fritz, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Marcia Letsoalo, Sunette Loubser, Yolandi Potgieter, Elriesa Theunissen, Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk.

SRI LANKA – Shashikala Siriwardena (captain), Sandamali Dolawatta (vice-captain), Chamari Attapaththu, Eshani Lokusooriya, Lasanthi Madushani, Dilani Manodara, Yasoda Mendis, Udeshika Prabodani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Inoka Ranaweera, Deepika Rasangika, Sherina Ravikumar, Chamani Senevirathne, Prasadini Weerakkody, Sripali Weerakkody.

WEST INDIES – Merissa Aguilleira (captain), Stafanie Taylor (vice-captain), Shemaine Campbelle, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Natasha Mclean, Anisa Mohammed, Subrina Munroe, Juliana Nero, June Ogle, Shaquana Quintyne, Shakera Selman, Tremayne Smartt.


Mithali remains on top in ICC rankingsDecember 21, 2012

More In: Cricket | Sport

Cricket World Cup 2015 Fixtures
Cricket's most anticipated event is back. This time in Australia and New Zealand and spanning for nearly 50 days. Here's the list of scheduled matches with timings and venues.

Pages from the past Digging out some classic articles from our exhaustive archives.

That night...June 25, 1983

Field Marshal extraordinaire

Giving the boys their due

The fascinating journey with Lara

Salute to a great team in decline

Let us resolve...

It isn't cricket






Recent Article in Cricket

Aswin Crist returned to dispatch the tail after Vijay Shankar broke through early to seal Tamil Nadu’s spot in the final.

Ranji trophy: Tamil Nadu goes through to the final as Maharashtra falls short

Aswin Crist and Vijay Shankar finish off the lower order in session one »