A cautious Andhra compiled 240 for five after losing its first wicket in the third over of the opening day of its Ranji Trophy group C league match against Goa at the ACA-VDCA stadium here on Saturday.

Medium pacer Saurabh Bandekar picked up three wickets, including that of H. Vatekar in the third over. Medium pacer Harshad Gadekar and left-arm spinner Shadab Jakati also did not give much leeway to Andhra.

The bowling, however, did not curb the natural dashing style of the experienced K.S. Shahabuddin (49, 6x4, 2x6) who put on 73 for the second wicket with D.B. Prashanth Kumar. He clouted Bandekar and Sher Bahadur Yadav over long on at both ends.

He was bowled just short of his half-century when he did not move facing up to a Gadekar delivery that came in.

Prashanth Kumar (48, 4x4,1x6) dug in and his stand for the third wicket with B. Sumanth realised 42. His attempt to take a single off Gadekar cost him his wicket; Rohit Asnodkar’s direct throw from short mid-wicket was spot on and a TV review was needed to declare him out.

It was left to Amol Muzumdar batting on 56 to steady the innings. He and captain A.G. Pradeep added 57 for the fourth wicket.

Just when the host looked like getting quick runs in the last session, Pradeep’s uppish drive was well held by medium pacer Bandekar on his follow through.

D. Sivakumar provided good support to Muzumdar and the two added 46 runs and weathered the new ball taken two overs before the day’s play was called off due to insufficient light with three overs remaining.

The scores: Andhra — 1 innings: D.B. Prashanth Kumar (run out) 48, H. Vatekar c Manvinder Bisla b Saurabh Bandekar 0, K.S. Shahabuddin b Harshad Gadekar 49, B. Sumanth lbw Bandekar 21, Amol Muzumdar (batting) 56, A.G. Pradeep c and b Bandekar 30, D. Sivakumar (batting) 22; Extras (b-5, lb-4, nb-3, w-2): 14; Total (for five wickets in 87 overs): 240.

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-74, 3-116,4-137, 5-194.

Goa bowling: Saurabh S. Bandekar 22-4-62-3, Harshad H. Gadekar 25-9-50-1, Shadab Jakati 25-6-55-0, Sher Bahadur Yadav 14-1-59-0, Amogh S. Desai 1-0-5-0.

Keywords: Ranji Trophy

More In: Cricket | Sport