A strokeful 162 by opener K.B. Arun Karthick (245b, 15x4, 1x6) powered TNCA President’s XI to 396 for nine against Hyderabad on the first the day of the quarterfinal matches in the Kalpathi Buchi Babu all-India tournament here on Saturday.

B. Indrajith notched up his third 90-plus score in the ongoing competition when he made 95 (148b, 6x4, 1x6). Vijay Shankar chipped in with 52 (49b, 4x4, 2x6).

Arun Karthick put on 97 in 36.4 for the first wicket with the left-handed Abhinav Mukund (46), and then, 201 runs in 44.5 overs with Indrajith for the third wicket.

Uttar Pradesh — helped by a five-wicket haul from left-arm-spinner Kuldeep Yadav — did well to bowl out Karnataka for 230. Karnataka would have fared worse but for a 90-run association in 30.5 overs for the eighth wicket between J. Suchith (71 not out, 152b, 12x4) and Abhimanyu Mithun (45).

Then Uttar Pradesh, lifted by half-centuries from Tanmay Srivastava (54, 86b, 6x4) and skipper Mohammed Kaif (55 batting, 106b, 5x4, 1x6), progressed to 118 for two at stumps. TNCA XI fought back after being jolted to score 261 against Andhra.

The left-handed V. Maaruthi Raghav (74, 152b, 4x4, 1x6) and captain R. Ashwin (60, 71b, 7x4, 1x6) gathered 105 runs for the sixth wicket in 24.1 overs.

Later, Ashwin struck twice with his off-spin to leave Andhra at 20 for two.

A weighty innings from opener Abhimanyu Khod (89, 146b, 11x4) and handy contributions from Sunny Singh (65, 84b, 7x4, 1x6), Rahul Dalal (57, 103b, 6x4) and skipper Ajay Jadeja (45 not out) helped Haryana to a healthy 352 for nine in its 100 overs against Kerala.

The scores (quarterfinals): Day 1: TNCA President’s XI 396 for nine in 100 overs (Abhinav Mukund 46, K.B. Arun Karthick 162, B. Indrajith 95, Vijay Shankar 52) vs Hyderabad. Toss: Hyderabad.

Karnataka 230 in 74 overs (J. Suchith 71 not out, Abhimanyu Mithun 45, Kuldeep Yadav five for 114, Saurabh Kumar three for 58) vs Uttar Pradesh CA 118 for two in 36 overs (Tanmay Srivastava 54, Mohammed Kaif 55 batting). Toss: Karnataka.

TNCA XI 261 in 96.3 overs (K. Bharath Shankar 40, M. Kaushik Gandhi 44, V. Maaruthi Raghav 74, R. Ashwin 60, G.V.S. Prasad four for 49, K. Bharat Reddy three for 48) vs Andhra 20 for two in 10 overs. Toss: TNCA XI.

Haryana 352 for nine in 100 overs (Sunny Singh 65, Rahul Dalal 57, Ajay Jadeja 45 not out, Amit Mishra 30, Prashant Parameshwaran three for 52) vs Kerala 12 without loss in three overs. Toss: Haryana.


Kuldeep Yadav spins UP to victoryAugust 28, 2013

More In: Cricket | Sport