Ambati Rayudu remained the last man standing producing a spirited 89 not out as Baroda’s innings came to an end at 271, yielding host Mumbai a 374-run first innings lead in the Ranji Trophy quarterfinal match here on Wednesday.

With the semifinal berth confirmed, the home team chose not to enforce the follow-on, using the remainder of day four to give its batsmen some batting practice.

Mumbai reached 171 for one at stumps in its second essay for a cumulative lead of 545.

Wasim Jaffer and Kaustubh Pawar walking out to the middle meant there was no let up in misery for the visitors, whose young players will spend the fifth and final day at the Wankhede stadium engaging in a futile chase of the ball.

Earlier, Rayudu (152b, 15x4, 2x6) was left to fight alone once overnight partner Pinal Shah was snapped up at gully off debutant spinner Vishal Dabholkar (three for 88) at 188.

Rayudu went on the offensive, as expected, after that. But it was a lone furrow that he would plough.

The scores:

Mumbai — 1st innings: 645.

Baroda — 1st innings: Saurabh Wakaskar c Jaffer b Dabholkar 51, Aditya Waghmode c Tare b Kulkarni 53, Abhimanyu Chauhan b Kulkarni 0, Kedar Devdhar lbw b Dabholkar 16, Yusuf Pathan c Kulkarni b Agarkar 21, Pinal Shah c Hiken b Dabholkar 11, Ambati Rayudu (not out) 89, Gagandeep Singh c Pawar b Chavan 1, Ketul Patel st Tare b Chavan 8, Murtuja Vahora b Javed 1, Bhargav Bhatt c Tendulkar b Javed 8; Extras (nb-8, w-1, b-1, lb-2): 12; Total (in 102.4 overs): 271.

Fall of wickets: 1-102, 2-109, 3-120, 4-150, 5-150, 6-188, 7-197, 8-227, 9-249.

Mumbai bowling: Javed Khan 7.5-1-27-2, Dhaval Kulkarni 20-9-58-2, Abhishek Nayar 8-2-17-0, Ajit Agarkar 12-6-22-1, Ankeet Chavan 20-2-56-2, Vishal Dabholkar 34.5-10-88-3.

Mumbai — 2nd innings: Wasim Jaffer lbw b Rayudu 33, Kaustubh Pawar (batting) 70, Hiken Shah (batting) 65; Extras (b-1, nb-2): 3; Total (for one wkt. in 51 overs): 171.

Fall of wicket: 1-48.

Baroda bowling: Gagandeep Singh 6-1-14-0, Bhargav Bhatt 19-3-57-0, Ambati Rayudu 8-1-32-1, Ketul Patel 14-2-50-0, Aditya Waghmode 4-0-17-0.

Keywords: Ranji Trophy

More In: Cricket | Sport