Bangladesh ended its long losing streak in Test cricket here on Monday and dedicated the rare victory over Zimbabwe to the hundreds of people who died in the building collapse back home last week.

Fast bowler Robiul Islam, who was named the man-of-the-series, said simply it was “for the people” in Savar after Bangladesh rebounded from a heavy defeat in the first match to level the short series with a first victory in four years by 143 runs.

Bangladesh’s last win came in a 2-0 whitewash over the West Indies in 2009, and it had only won three Tests in more than a decade of playing the five-day format before the victory here.

The other success was also against Zimbabwe in 2005.

Robiul, using skipper Mushfiqur Rahim as a translator, then said the long-awaited win was for the victims of the building tragedy, where more than 380 people died.

Zia-ur-Rahman took four for 63 on debut and spinner Shakib Al Hasan three for 52 for the tourist as Zimbabwe was bowled out for 257 in its second innings on the final day of the second Test — well short of the target of 401 it had been set by Bangladesh.

Hamilton Masakadza was 111 not out after hitting four sixes for Zimbabwe’s only meaningful resistance, but Bangladesh still closed out the big win to end a run of nine straight series losses.

Bangladesh’s long-awaited success was built on its first-innings score of 391 after being put in to bat by Zimbabwe skipper Brendan Taylor.

Bangladesh captain Rahim responded with scores of 60 and 93 in the two innings to win the man-of-the-match award.

Shakib and Nasir Hossain also made two half-centuries in the Test to keep Bangladesh in control throughout the match.


Bangladesh — 1st innings: 391.

Zimbabwe — 1st innings: 282.

Bangladesh — 2nd innings: 291 for nine decl.

Zimbabwe — 2nd innings: Vusi Sibanda c Gazi b Shakib 32, Regis Chakabva b Shakib 22, Hamilton Masakadza (not out) 111, Brendan Taylor lbw b Rahman 10, Malcolm Waller b Rahman 15, Shingi Masakadza lbw Ashraful 24, Elton Chigumbura c Robiul b Gazi 2, Richmond Mutumbami b Rahman 12, Graeme Cremer c Nasir Hossain b Rahman 3, Keegan Meth lbw Robiul 4, Kyle Jarvis lbw b Shakib 7; Extras (b-4, lb-7, nb-4): 15; Total (in 95.3 overs): 257.

Fall of wickets: 1-36, 2-66, 3-96, 4-118, 5-164, 6-169, 7-200, 8-214, 9-219.

Bangladesh bowling: Robiul Islam 20-5-53-1, Sajidul Islam 3-1-9-0, Shakib Al Hasan 11.3-0-52-3, Sohag Gazi 31-11-56-1, Ziaur Rahman 23-8-63-4, Mohammad Ashraful 7-1-13-1.

Man-of-the-match: Mushfiqur Rahim (Bangladesh).

Man-of-the-series: Robiul Islam (Bangladesh).

More In: Cricket | Sport