The Trinamool Congress on Friday announced the names of its four candidates for the July 22 Rajya Sabha election from West Bengal, with Congress leader Sukhendu Sekhar Roy, who resigned from the party, finding a place.

The other candidates were Debabrata Bandyopadhaya, a former IAS officer who headed the State government’s committee on land policy, party vice-president and quiz master Derek O’ Brien and Srinjoy Bose, editor of a Bengali daily, Trinamool Congress General Secretary Mukul Roy told reporters here.

He said that Mr. Sukhendu Sekhar Roy had written to Mamata Banerjee two months ago for admission to the party after resigning from the Congress. His application was approved by the party secretariat.

“During my 43-year political career, I always remained loyal to Congress, but the party did not even consider my name as a candidate during the last Assembly election in the state,” said Mr. Sukhendu Sekhar Roy, who was an AICC member.

He expressed gratitude to the party supremo for nominating him. “She has given me respect, though I have done nothing for the party as yet,” he said.

Of the six Rajya Sabha seats, the ruling Trinamool Congress-Congress combine could win five and Left parties one, according to their strength in the state Assembly.

Trinamool Congress’ ally Congress is yet to name its candidate.