Filing of nomination papers for the Phase III of the Jharkhand Assembly elections will begin this Friday with Governor K. Sankaranarayanan issuing the notification.

The polling will be held on December 8 in 11 constituencies, including the four constituencies of Dumka district – Sikaripara (Scheduled Tribes), Dumka (ST), Jama (ST) and Jarmudi – where the election, originally scheduled for November 25 in the first phase, was rescinded in view of lapses in distribution of nomination forms in Hindi.

The other constituencies listed in Phase III are Bermo, Bokaro, Chandankiyari (Scheduled Castes), Dhanwar, Bagodar, Jamua (SC) and Hazaribagh.

The last date for filing nomination papers is November 20. Scrutiny of papers will take place on November 21 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 23.

In Dumka district, the Deputy Commissioner and the Returning officers of the four constituencies had inadvertently supplied a wrong version, in Hindi, of the prescribed form of nomination papers to the candidates. The error came to light when the papers were taken up for scrutiny on November 9.

Meanwhile, Friday (November 13) is also the last date for withdrawal of candidature for Phase I that will have elections in 26 constituencies on November 25. Saturday is the last date for filing nominations for Phase II of the poll to be held on December 2 in 15 constituencies.