A local court in Jammu and Kashmir has awarded ten years of rigorous imprisonment to three narcotic smugglers here in Kishtwar district.

Kishtwar Principal District and Sessions Judge M L Manhas on Tuesday awarded 10 years rigorous imprisonment and also imposed a fine of Rs one lakh on Farooq Ahmad, Shahnawaz and Bharat Bushan Wazir.

In case of default of payment of fine, the convicts will undergo further rigorous imprisonment for a period of two years.

According to the prosecution, on August 30, 2009, complainant Surjeet Kumar along with troops of Rashtriya Rifles and police intercepted the three motorbike-borne accused near Dak Banglow and seized packets of heroin from them.

The convicts have been sent to District Jail, Amphalla in Jammu.