The Gujarat government has decided to honour two players from the State in the victorious World Cup cricket team with the State's highest sports award “Eklavya Puraskar.”

Announcing this here on Sunday, Chief Minister Narendra Modi said Gujarat was proud of Yusuf Pathan and Munaf Patel and they would be given the award for their contribution to lifting the World Cup.

Congratulating the entire team on the victory, Mr. Modi said the tournament had aroused the feeling of patriotism among the people and India's talented squad had brought glory and laurels to the nation.

Award for Raina, Chawla

Atiq Khan writes from Lucknow:

Suresh Raina and Piyush Chawla will be bestowed with the Manyavar Kanshiram International Sports Award instituted by the Uttar Pradesh government. Mr. Raina and Mr. Chawla are from the State.

The announcement was made by the Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati on Sunday. She said Mr. Raina and Mr. Chawla had brought laurels to the country and the State.

They played a significant role in enabling India to enter the finals and win the World Cup, she said in a release.

Ms. Mayawati said the State government was committed to encouraging sports and budding sportsmen.

Marcus Dam writes from Kolkata:

The Railway Ministry will provide lifetime 1{+s}{+t} AC complimentary passes to the members of the Indian cricket team that won the ICC World Cup 2011 in Mumbai on Saturday.

The passes will be available to the players and one companion for unlimited free travel anywhere in the country, according to a release issued by the Ministry on Sunday.

Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee congratulated the cricket team. She has also requested that a national holiday be declared by the Centre in recognition of the achievement.

“I have spoken to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh about it,” said Union Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee who also congratulated the team. “Now it is up to the Centre.”

“I feel especially proud… When we won the World Cup in 1983 led by Kapil Dev I happened to be the Finance Minister. Today again I am the Finance Minister,” he said.

Cash prize for Sachin, Zaheer

PTI reports from Mumbai:

Maharashtra government announced a cash prize of Rs 1 crore each for Sachin Tendulkar and Zaheer Khan. Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan made the announcement at a 'high tea' organised by President Pratibha Patil here. After the BCCI announced a cash prize of Rs 1 crore each for the members of the World Cup winning team, the Delhi government had declared a similar prize for the players hailing from the Capital.