Main opposition Congress has announced decision to boycott the first session of new assembly citing post election violence against party supporters. The 11th assembly commenced in Agartala on Friday with speech of Governor Dr D.Y. Patil.

All ten members of Congress were present when the session got underway in the morning. At 12.40 p.m. they staged a walkout and announced decision to boycott the current session to protest ‘relentless atrocities against Congress supporters’.

“At least four of our supporters killed and scores injured so far in violence spearheaded by CPI(M) cadres”, Congress spokesperson and MLA Asish Saha said. He said the violence continues unabated even after Chief Minister Manik Sarkar warned of action against the perpetrators.

PCC President and MLA Sudip Roy Burman spoke at length on incidents before they walked out of house. He said Congress would stay away from present session of assembly in protest against the politically motivated violence and inaction on part of the state government.

Chief Minister Manik Sarkar has given repeated calls to end violence and maintain peace. “I would not get involve in blame game, but the violence whatsoever should stop immediately”, Mr Sarkar said at party’s victory rally recently.

The assembly unanimously re-elected Ramendra Debnath as Speaker.

Prominent CPI(M) leader Pabitra Kar has been made Deputy Speaker.

This would be last presence of Governor Dr Patil in Tripura assembly as he has been transferred to Bihar.