News » National

Updated: May 30, 2013 23:50 IST

Manmohan elected to RS for fifth term

Special Correspondent
Comment (1)   ·   print   ·   T  T  
Manmohan Singh
Manmohan Singh

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was re-elected to the Rajya Sabha from Assam for the fifth consecutive time. Another Congress nominee, Santiuse Kujur, also won the second Rajya Sabha seat from the State, polling for which took place in the Assembly here on Thursday.

Dr. Singh polled 49 first preference votes and Mr. Kujur 45 first preference votes. All India United Democratic Front nominee Aminul Islam polled 18 votes. Nine legislators of the Asom Gana Parishad and five BJP MLAs in the 126-member House abstained from voting.

Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, who was the first to cast the vote, congratulated Dr. Singh for his fifth consecutive victory. He said both Dr. Singh and Mr. Kujur would work for the progress and prosperity of the State and the country.

The Congress has now five representatives out of seven from Assam in the Upper House.

The AGP and the Congress ally, Bodoland People’s Front, (BPF) have one member each in the Rajya Sabha.

More In: National | News

The MLAs of AGP and BJP, by abstaining from voting, have facilitated a glorious victory for
Mr. Manmohan Singh who is in the news everyday in his second term of office, for all the
wrong reasons. Will The Hindu make efforts to enlighten its readers as to the national cause
served by these, through this absention?

from:  Shekar
Posted on: May 31, 2013 at 10:30 IST
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Swachh Bharat Mission

Tweet your opinions with #THCleanIndia. Take a look at how the mission has taken shape. Read more»


Tamil Nadu

Andhra Pradesh





Recent Article in National

Germany hopeful of practical solution to language row

Commenting on the recent controversy over the teaching of German language in Kendriya Vidyalayas, German Ambassador to India, Michael St... »