The film ‘Celluloid’ which depicts the life of J.C. Daniel, revered as the father of Malayalam cinema, has won seven State film awards, including those for the best feature film and best actor.

Minister for Cinema K.B. Ganesh Kumar and a jury headed by director I.V. Sasi announced the awards here on Friday.

‘Celluloid,’ directed by Kamal, fetched the best actor award for Prithviraj who plays the male lead.

Also considered

Prithviraj’s performance in ‘Ayalum Njanum Thammil,’ directed by Lal Jose, was also considered for the award.

The songs ‘Katte katte…’ and ‘En untodi…’ won the best music director award for M. Jayachandran. Sriram and Vaikkom Vijayalekshmi who sang the duet won a special jury mention, and Sithara who rendered the solo won the best female playback singer award. The film fetched Suresh Kollam the best art director award and S.B. Satish the best costumer award.

‘Ozhimuri,’ directed by Madhupal, was adjudged the second best film. Lal Jose was selected the best director and the film ‘Ayalum Njanum Thammil’ the popular film with artistic value.

Best female actor

Reema Kallingal was adjudged the best female actor for her lead roles in ‘Nidra’ and ‘22 Female Kottayam.’

Manoj K. Jayan’s role in ‘Kaliyachan’ won him the second best male actor award, and Sajitha Madathil’s performance in ‘Shutter’ won her the second best female actor award and special jury mention for her role in ‘Papilio Buddha.’

Salim Kumar won the best comedian award for his role in ‘Ayalum Njanum Thammil.’ Master Minon (‘101 Chodyangal’) and Vijayanthi (‘Manjadikuru’) are the best child artistes.

Best story

Manoj Kana (‘Chayilyam’) is the best story writer. Madhu Neelakantan (‘Annayum Rasoolum’) is the best cinematographer. Anjali Menon’s screenplay for ‘Manjadikuru’ won her the best scenarist award. Bijibal got the award for the best background score for ‘Kaliyachan’ and ‘Ozhimuri.’

Vijay Yesudas’ songs ‘Akalayo nee…’ and ‘Mazha kondu mathram…’ in ‘Grandmaster’ and ‘Spirit’ won him the award for the best male playback singer.

Other awards

The following are the other awards: best editor B. Ajith Kumar (‘Annayum Rasoolum’), sound recording M.R. Rajakrishnan (Manjadikuru), colourist Jayadev (‘Annayum Rasoolum’), make-up man M.G. Roshan (‘Mayamohini’), dubbing artiste Vimmi Mariam George (‘22 Female Kottayam’ and ‘Nidra’), and best debut director Farooq Abdul Rehman (‘Kaliyachan’).

Special jury award

The special jury award for best director went to Jayan Cherian for ‘Papilio Buddha.’

The award for the best book on cinema went to ‘Cinemayude Nottangal’ by K. Gopinath, and that for the best article on cinema to ‘Nirangalude Soundarya Rashtriyangal’ by K. Sherry Jacob. The special jury mention for the article on cinema went to ‘Sesham Vellithirayil’ by Kiran Ravindran.