Doordarshan Kendra, Bangalore, has chosen eight eminent people and an organisation for its inaugural Doordarshan Chandana Awards 2012.

The recipients are: Chennaveera Kanavi (literature); Enagi Balappa (drama); Panchakshariswamy Mattigatti (music); Maya Rao (dance), Mareppa Mareppa Dasara (folk); Asha Benakappa (health) G.S. Prakash (agriculture) and S.S. Rajesh (producer of television serial, Crazy Colonel).

Karnataka State Swimming Association is the organisation chosen for the award.

The awards will be conferred on the recipients at a function organised in association with All India Radio and the Christ University on its Foundation Day programme to be held at Christ University auditorium here on November 16.

Speaking to presspersons here on Friday, Additional Director-General, Doordarshan, Mahesh Joshi said that the award carries a citation. “Doordarshan Chandana channel would telecast documentary on each one of the award winners in the coming days,” he said.

Governor H.R. Bhardwaj will inaugurate the programme, the former Supreme Court Judge and Chairman of the Selection Committee Shivraj Patil, Chief Secretary S.V. Ranganath and Director-General, Doordarshan, New Delhi, Tripurari Sharan, will participate.