Polling in Tumkur district was by and large peaceful with the district recording a polling percentage of 76.

KPCC president G. Parameshwara cast his vote at Heggare in Tumkur taluk. He is contesting from Koratagere constituency.

District-in-charge minister S. Shivanna cast his vote at Chikkapete in Tumkur city who is a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate from Tumkur city .

He has been a legislator in Tumkur city for the past 20 years. G.S. Basavaraju, MP, and his son Jyothi Ganesh who is a Karnataka Janata Paksha candidate from Tumkur city cast their votes in Tumkur. People since morning stood in queues to cast their votes.


Rain on Sunday afternoon disrupted the polling for some time in some parts of the district, including Tumkur city, Madhugiri, Koratagere taluks as people stayed indoors. After the rain stopped, the turnout picked up in the afternoon.