Today's Paper Archive Classifieds Subscriptions RSS Feeds Site Map ePaper Mobile Apps Social

National » Karnataka

Updated: May 21, 2013 16:40 IST

15 are first-time Ministers in State

Special Correspondent
Share  ·   Comment   ·   print   ·  
The Hindu

Ambareesh, Srinivas Prasad among them

First-timers and youngsters dominate the 29-member Cabinet headed by Chief Minister Siddaramaiah.

There are 15 first-time Ministers, and they are Shamanur Shivashankarappa, V. Srinivas Prasad, M.H. Ambareesh, Vinay Kumar Sorake, U.T. Khader, M.B. Patil, H. Anjaneya (all Cabinet rank), Abhyachandra Jain, Sharan Prakash Patil, Krishna Byre Gowda, Dinesh Gundu Rao, Kimmane Rathnakar, Santosh Lad, Umashree and P.T. Parameshwara Naik (Ministers of State).

Mr. Srinivas Prasad and Mr. Ambareesh, who served as Ministers of State at the Centre, are becoming Ministers for the first time in Karnataka.

Among the Ministers, Mr. Lad is the youngest (38 years) while Mr. Shivashankarappa is the oldest (81 years).

Several Ministers such as Mr. Khader, Mr. Sharan Prakash Patil, Mr. Krishna Byre Gowda, Mr. Dinesh Gundu Rao and Mr. Parameshwara Naik are in their 40s.

There are nine legislators from the Old Mysore region, including four from Bangalore.

More In: Karnataka | National
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor





Recent Article in Karnataka

Fund set up for protection of monuments

Rs. 100 cr. to be allocated for those that are vulnerable, underdeveloped »