YSR Congress in charges for 10 Assembly constituencies in Kadapa district launched 36-hour hunger strike in the respective Assembly constituency headquarters on Wednesday demanding a united State.

The YSRC leaders demanded that Telugu Desam Party president N. Chandrababu Naidu withdraw his letter favouring bifurcation of the State and agitate for a united State.

Those undertaking hunger strike were YSR Congress MLC C. Narayana Reddy and former municipal chairman T. Suryanarayana Reddy in Jammalamadugu, MLA G. Srikanth Reddy in Rayachoti, MLA A. Amarnath Reddy in Rajampet, MLA K. Srinivasulu in Railway Kodur, YSRC Kadapa city president S.B. Amjad Basha before Kadapa Collectorate, YSRC youth wing district president Y.S. Avinash Reddy in Pulivendula, former Kadapa Mayor P. Raveendranath Reddy in Kamalapuram, former MLA D.C. Govind Reddy in Badvel, former MLA S. Raghurami Reddy in Mydukur and E.V. Sudhakar Reddy in Proddatur.

YSRC leaders T.K. Afzal Ali Khan, N. Madhava Reddy, B. Nityananda Reddy, Jilani and Teachers JAC leader S. Elias Reddy and other leaders expressed solidarity to Mr. Amjad Basha.

Meanwhile, Irrigation engineers and employees launched a 48-hour relay hunger strike before the Irrigation SE office here, under the aegis of JAC leaders Jilani Basha and Marreddy. Mandal education officers launched relay hunger strike in all the 51 mandals in Kadapa district on Wednesday. The agitation would be continued until the Congress withdraws the bifurcation move, MEOs Association district president V. Nagamuni Reddy said.


The in-charges of the YSRC at the constituency level launched relay hunger strike. Punganur former MLA and YSRC leader, P. Ramachandra Reddy, sat on hunger strike at Punganur with hundreds of followers. In Palamaner, former MLA, N. Amarnatha Reddy, went round the town and spoke to the various JACs, before launching his fast at Nehru centre. In Piler, party convener Chintala Ramachachandra Reddy sat on fast. In Puthalapattu, Madanapalle, Tamballapalle and GD Nellore constituencies, the party leaders and activists joined the hunger strike camps of their conveners in large numbers.


The YSRC leaders across the district took to the streets holding hunger strikes for varying periods in support of Samaikyandhra.

While the Anantapur YSRC MLA, B Gurunath Reddy, launched a 36-hour long fast opposite the Nandini hotel centre close to the statue of Y.S.Rajasekhara Reddy, senior leader and aspirant from the Uravakonda assembly constituency Y. Viswesvar Reddy sat on a 30-hour hunger strike along with his followers at the old bus stand Uravakonda town.

Speaking at the venue of the hunger strike, Mr. Visvesvar Reddy said that the YSRC was the only party in the State besides the CPI (M) which was against the division of the State and demanded that the Centre heed the legitimate demands of the people.