The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has registered comfortable victories in Krishna district by winning the Vijayawada Municipal Corporation (VMC) and four – Machilipatnam, Nandigama, Pedana, Tiruvur - out of eight municipalities. YSR Congress (YSRC) won Gudivada, Jaggaiahpet and Nuzvid.

These two main parties were tied-up with nine wards each in Vuyyur where two independents are going to call the shots.

The Congress party’s performance was so dismal that it won just one ward in the entire district whereas the TDP and the YSRC won 141 and 123 wards respectively.

Out of 59 divisions in the VMC, the TDP won 37 against YSRC’s 19 and one each of CPI (M) and the BJP and an independent. CPI (M) won one more ward in Tiruvur.

The TDP won 29, 12, 15, 7, 10, 9, 12 and 10 wards in Machilipatnam, Pedana, Gudivada, Nuzvid, Jaggaiahpet, Vuyyur, Tiruvur and Nandigama respectively.

The YSRC won 11 wards each in Machilipatnam and Pedana, 21 in Gudivada, 22 in Nuzvid, 16 in Jaggaiahpet, 9 in Vuyyur and seven each in Tiruvur and Nandigama. Independents won 3 wards in Nandigama, 2 in Vuyyur and one each in Nuzvid and Jaggaiahpet.