Telangana Congress Ministers and leaders urged the President, Pranab Mukherjee, against extending the January 23 deadline set for the Legislature to send its views on the A.P. Reorganisation Bill, 2013.

The Telangana leaders were concerned that the Seemandhra leaders, who obstructed the discussion on the Bill, were trying to sabotage the Telangana process seeking extension of deadline. Ministers, MPs, MLAs and MLCs were among others who called on the President at Rashtrapati Nilayam and submitted a memorandum thanking him for referring the Bill to the State Legislature.

They expressed concern that 11 days after the Bill reached the Legislature, there was no meaningful debate in both the Houses as a group of legislators blocked the proceedings. They lodged a complaint against Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy for his frequent public comments on stalling the bifurcation process.

The Chief Minister was an individual and the Centre represented had the power to take decision on Telangana. The President is, however, understood to have not made any comments on the Bill or the process of bifurcation, except for exchanging pleasantries with the delegation.

Later speaking to the media persons in his chambers, Panchayat Raj Minister K. Jana Reddy along with Union Minister Balram Naik, MP Gutta Sukhendar Reddy and others said that they explained in the memorandum the situation in and outside the Assembly after the Bill was referred to the State. The Telangana leaders were apprehensive of the conspiracy to delay sending of the Bill back to the President.

Advising the Seemandhra leaders against adopting “undemocratic behaviour”, they said this could lead to conflicts. They could instead give their views and raise objections for seeking remedies to their concerns. This would help in ensuring mutual cooperation and harmonious relations between the people of two regions after bifurcation. In an indirect dig at the Chief Minister, they said the individuals who were bent on disrupting bifurcation process would be called conspirators.