Amidst chaotic scenes, a resolution tabled by Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, rejecting the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill, 2013, was adopted by voice vote in the Assembly on Thursday.

As the time set by President Pranab Mukherjee for the debate on the Bill ended on Thursday, tension had been palpable since morning, amid fears of a showdown between Telangana and Seemandhra MLAs when the resolution was taken up.

Expectedly, there were noisy scenes and amid the din Speaker Nadendla Manohar put the resolution to voice vote, and declared that “ayes have it” and the motion was carried. All this happened in less than two minutes. He saw no reason to take up 10 non-official resolutions on the same subject.

Even as the Speaker was going through the motion, Telangana Rashtra Samiti members T. Harish Rao, Vinay Bhaskar and Sammaiah were involved in pushing and jostling with Seemandhra MLAs. With the adoption of the resolution, the bandh called by the TDP in Seemandhra gave way to celebrations at some places. In contrast, students burnt effigies of the Chief Minister here.