Tamil Nadu Governor felicitates recipients of ‘puraskarams’

Tamil Nadu Governor K. Rosaiah has described the ‘puraskarams’ being given by Dr. Ramineni Foundation for over a decade to eminent people in various fields as prestigious and highly valued.

Participating in the Guru Puraskarams and Guru Sanmaanam Pratibha Puraskarams-2012 in Visakhapatnam on Friday, he said the awards have gained significance at a time when people have a cloud of suspicion on various puraskarams that they were managed or purchased by the awardees themselves.

He said the track record of Ramineni Foundation reflected on their integrity, purpose and the noble objective of recognising eminent people in different walks of life and paying true and rich tributes to them.

He said he was happy to come to the city which was ever expanding on the industrial front and having many feathers on its cap. Andhra University at one time catered to all the coastal districts and beyond and the city was known to be an educational centre but with the passage of time many players entered the field and took education to multiple shores, he said.

Union Minister of State for Human Resource Development Daggubati Purandeswari lauded the Dr. Ramineni Ayyanna Choudhary and the foundation set up by him and being carried forward by his offspring the ideals of their late father in preserving the Indian culture and ethos and promoting education in rural areas.

Minister for Infrastructure Development Ganta Srinivasa Rao said he was impressed with the image of Ramineni Foundation and the academic value it had carved for itself and invited the foundation to have their puraskaram in the city. Mr. Rosaiah felicitated the recipients of puraskarams, including social worker P.D. Kameswara Rao, librarian Velaga Venkatappaiah, educationist Alladi Uma and cine actor Ravi Kondala Rao.

The awards selection committee consisted of founder director of L.V. Prasad Eye Institute G.N. Rao, HMTV Editor-in-Chief K. Ramachandra Murthy, and psychologist B.V. Pattabhiram.

MLAs Tynala Vijaya Kumar and Dronamraju Sreenivasa Rao and spoke. GVMC Commissioner M.V. Satyanarayana was present.

More In: Visakhapatnam