Contract workers go on hunger strike against ‘T’ Bill

Four states – Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Maharashtra – will be plunged into darkness if the electricity employees of Seemandhra go on strike, claimed Samaikyandhra Electrical Employees State JAC co-convener M. Satyanandam. Inaugurating the day-long hunger strike of the Electricity contract workers to extend their solidarity to the ‘Dheeksha’ being done by Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy in New Delhi against introduction of Telangana Bill in Parliament, Mr Satyanandam said that the electrical workers were ready to go a strike at short notice. The introduction of the Telangana Bill in Parliament would not be allowed at any cost because the bifurcation of the state would be extremely adverse to the electricity employees. Most of them would be rendered jobless.

APNGO Association leaders and Samaikyandhra JAC leaders A Vidya Sagar, V.V. Prasad, and Stamps and Registration Department Employees Association state president J. Bajaji visited the hunger strike camp and expressed their solidarity to the Electrical Employees and Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy.

More In: Vijayawada