Inter-State South Zone tourney to be held from Sept. 2. Andaman Nicobar Islands team will not be taking part as the association is in dispute.

Big time badminton comes to costal town of Chirala in Prakasam District as the three-day South Zone Inter-State tournament will take place from September 2, according to Badminton Association of India secretary (events) K. Ch. Punnaiah Chowdary, here on Monday.

The tournament, featuring around 15 international shuttlers will be held at two venues – DSA Indoor Stadium and Raavi Jayalakshmi and Subbarayudu Indoor Stadium on five wooden courts with lighting. “Host Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Puducherry will participate in the tournament held in men's (Rahimatoola Cup), women's (Chadha Cup), junior boys (Narang Cup) and junior girls (Shafi Qureshi Cup) segments”, he added.

Tournament organising secretary Ch. Raghu Kiran said Yonex Shuttle will be used throughout the tournament.

“We have given the particulars about the hotels and travel information such as train timings to all the teams. Boarding, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian, will be provided to all players and officials near the venue,” he added.

He said the practice schedule would be given to the teams on September 2 before noon and tournament will be inaugurated at 5 p.m. after the team managers' meeting.

Mr. Punnaiah Chowdary said Andaman Nicobar Islands team was not taking part as the association was in dispute.

“Two warring groups are fighting for the supremacy and the case is in court. We have disqualified the team,” he said.

He also said the tournament was shifted from West Godavari to Prakasam district as Cosmopolitan Club in Bhimavaram expressed its inability to host the tournament.

More In: Vijayawada