8 file nominations in Udupi

As many as 17 persons submitted their nominations for the April 17 elections to Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency on Wednesday, the last day for submitting nominations. The scrutiny of nominations will be conducted on Thursday.

Nominees of the BJP, the Congress, the Aam Aadmi Party, the CPI (M), the Social Democratic Party of India, the Bahujan Samaj Party, the Hindustan Janata Party and independents filed their papers on Wednesday.

Thulasi Maddineni, president of Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) committee, Dakshina Kannada and the chief executive officer of the zilla panchayat told presspersons that the committee would begin pasting voter awareness stickers on vehicles from March 28. She said that one lakh stickers, in English and Kannada, were available for the purpose.

The Returning Officer and the Deputy Commissioner A. B. Ibrahim said the commission was aiming at 90 per cent voter turnout in the constituency this time. Ms. Maddineni said people could download the SVEEP posters and flexes from www.dk.nic.in and display them in front of their houses, offices or shops, without naming political parties or persons.

A total of 14 candidates are in the fray for Udupi-Chikmagalur parliamentary seat. Around eight candidates submitted their nomination papers to the Returning Officer Muddu Mohan on Wednesday. K. Jayaprakash Hegde submitted his papers as Congress candidate, while Shobha Karandlaje submitted her papers for the second time as BJP candidate.

CPI(ML) candidate and independents were among those who filed their papers on Wednesday. As many as 23 papers were received in the district since March 19. The last date for withdrawal of the papers is March 29.

More In: Mangaluru