Altogether, the tax collected for 2012-13 is Rs.756 crore as compared to Rs. 574 crore in the preceding year

Citizens living in the core areas of Khairatabad, Begumpet, Ameerpet, Banjara Hills, Jubilee Hills, Sanathnagar and the environs of circle 10 ensured that a record Rs.188.9 crore was collected as property tax in 2012-2013 from among the 18 circles.

It is followed by Serlingampally (circle 11 & 12) with Rs.82 crore, Kukatpally (circle 14) with Rs.77.3 crore, Secunderabad (circle 18) Rs.71.79 crore and L.B.Nagar (circle 3) Rs. 60.62 crore. The least amount collected was from the smaller circle of Patancheru/Ramachandrapuram (circle 13) Rs.3.36 crore followed by Alwal (circle 16) Rs.9.24 crore, Rajendranagar Rs.12.43 crore and Uppal (circle 2) Rs.13.52 crore.

South zone comprising the Old City areas of Charminar, Santoshnagar, Malakpet, Dabeerpura, Moghalpura, Falaknuma, Begum Bazar, Doodhbowli and Attapur had together collected about Rs.61 crore, a good Rs. 20 crore more when compared to the year before i.e. 2011-2012. Altogether, the tax collected for 2012-13 is Rs.756 crore as compared to Rs.574 crore, the preceding year.

These details were presented before the meeting held by GHMC Commissioner M.T. Krishna Babu on Monday. In the next three months, the meeting decided to target property owners who had not paid tax for the last four years.

Each bill collector would be given two assistants so as to ensure strict tax compliance from commercial and higher middle class properties. Property tax revision petitions would be taken up in all circles from April 15 to May second week.

GIS mapping and door-to-door survey would be taken up for bringing the under and un-assessed properties into the tax net.

It was also decided to speed up issuance of trade licences while the town planning wing was asked to take up a campaign to warn citizens about unauthorised constructions.

More In: Hyderabad