District Collector P. Umanath on Monday presented the Nirmal Gram Puraskar Awards instituted by the Union Government to seven village panchayats.


This measure of recognition was accorded to the awardees for having successfully implemented the 100 per cent total sanitisation project in villages preventing defecation in open places.


The award included certificate, memento and cash award depending on the population size of the panchayat.

For the year 2009, seven village panchayats were chosen for the award.

It was handed over to panchayat presidents P.N. Nanjundamurthy of Irumborai in Karamadai who got a cash prize of as much as Rs. 4 lakh, M. Maheswari of Mavuthampathi Panchayat in Madukkarai was given Rs. 2 lakh, Sivasamy of Mandrampalayam Panchayat in Kinathukkadavu was given Rs. 1 lakh, Amirtharaj of Ambarampalayam in Pollachi South got Rs 2 lakh, followed by Muthulakshmi of Naatukalpalayam of Pollachi South bagged Rs. 1 lakh, Sethuraman of Karianchettipalayam in Anaimalai bagged Rs. 1 lakh and Chinnan of Bilchinnampalayam in Anaimalai bagged Rs 1 lakh.

More In: Coimbatore