In the local body bye-elections in Krishnagiri district the ruling DMK alliance bagged two seats.

DMK candidates C. Chakravarthi won the election by a margin of 34 votes in Ward No. 9 in Bargur Panchayat Union. Mr. Chakravarthi polled 1275 votes against his nearest rival C. Periyathambi who got 1118 votes in his favour.

In the same Panchayat Union an independent candidate P. Thimmarayan won the election by a margin of 844 votes in Ward No. 21. He got 1284 votes against the rival candidate K.K. Ramamurthy, Congress candidate.

G. Ramachandran contested in Congress ticket was elected as Panchayat Union Councillor in Kaveripattinam Union. He won the seat by a margin of 687 votes. Mr. Ramachandran secured 1795 votes in his favour.

Elections were held to fill up vacant posts of three Panchayat Presidents in Krishnagiri district.

G.S. Shanmugam, who had contested in Lock and Key symbol elected as President in Mekalachinnampalli Village Panchayat in Krishnagiri Panchayat Union. He got 1285 votes in his favour. Three candidates contested for this post.

K. Ponmani contested in Electric Bulb symbol elected as President for the Kandhikuppam Panchayat in Bargur Panchayat Union. He got 1166 votes in his favour. His nearest rival N. Muthamilchelvan got 1113 votes.

G. Lakshmi, an AIADMK supporter contested in Lock and Key symbol elected as President of the Erumampatti Village in Kaveripattinam Panchayat Union. She garnered 965 votes. His rival C. Periyasamy got 897 votes.

Thirteen candidates were in fray for the six vacant posts in the district.

Sixteen ward members were elected unopposed for the vacant posts in various village panchayats in Krishnagiri district

None has filed nomination papers for Ward No. IV of Marudanapalli Panchayat in Thaly Panchayat Union.


In Dharmapuri Mr. Suresh was elected as President for Manjavadi Village Panchayat, Mr. Krishnan at Thalanatham Panchayat, Mr. Murugesan at Satyampuram Panchayat and Mr. Vijaykumar was elected as councilor for Ward No. 3 in Pooranatham Village.

As many seven ward members in various local bodies were elected unopposed.

Election for the Illakkiyampatti Panchayat was cancelled as per the court orders.

Filing of nominations began on July 3 and ended on July 10.