Tamil film-maker Bala winning the Best Director Award for his 'Naan Kadavul' and South filmdom bagging several key awards, it was Bollywood that made it this time at the 56th National Film Awards.

Bollywood actor Priyanka Chopra has bagged her first National Award for her performance in Madhur Bhandarkar’s “Fashion”.

The winners of the 56th National Film Award for 2008 were announced here on Saturday.

The award for the best popular film went to Dibakar Banerjee’s “Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!”, a satire on people’s obsession with wealth.

The Rahul Bose-starrer Bengali film “Antaheen,” directed by Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury was named the best film. 'Antaheen', starring Sharmila Tagore, Rahul Bose, Aparna Sen and Radhika Apte, is a relationship drama.

Tamil filmmaker Bala won the honour of Best Director for his film 'Naan Kadavul.'

The award for Best Actor went to Upendra Limaye for Marathi film 'Jogwa', which also fetched the trophy for the Best film on social issues.

Bollywood actress Priyanka Chopra bagged the Best Actress award for her role of an aspiring model in Madhur Bhandarkar's 'Fashion' which also bagged the Best Supporting Actress Award for Kangana Ranaut who played the role of a troubled model.

Actor Arjun Rampal won the award for Best Supporting Actor for his role of a failed rocker in 'Rock On'.

Shreya Ghoshal won the Best Female Playback award for 'Antaheen' and 'Jogwa', which also brought the Best Male Playback Singer award to Hariharan.

Kannada film 'Gubbachigalu' was adjudged the Best Children's film. The award for Best Special Effects went to 'Mumbai Meri Jaan'.

Malayalam film 'Bioscope' won the Best Jury Award while the trophy for Best Child Actor went to Shams Patel for Hindi film 'Thanks Maa'.

Actor-turned-director Nandita Das' film 'Firaaq' is selected for best editing and best art direction categories.

'Little Zizou' (English, Gujarati) was adjudged the best film on family values.

Neeta Lulla was selected for best costume designer for 'Jodha Akbar'. The film Jodha Akbar was also selected in the best choreography category.

'AFSPA 1958’ was adjudged the best non-feature film for the courageous depiction of the non-violent resistance of the people of Manipur.

Films Division produced ‘The Assassination of Rajiv Gandhi — A Reconstruction’ has been selected under the category ‘Best Biographical/Historical Reconstruction/Compilation film.’

President Pratibha Patil shall confer the Awards on the winners in March.