With the Philippines all set to ratify the Free Trade Agreement (FTA), the trade regime between the 10-member ASEAN block and India is all set to get consolidated paving way for inking of Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA) by year-end.

Philippines, apart from Cambodia, was the only country that had not ratified the agreement till date. Other members of the trade bloc are: Brunei, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand and Laos. “By the end of this year, a comprehensive economic partnership agreement between India and ASEAN will be in place,” Commerce and Industry Minister Anand Sharma said.

Keywords: ASEAN FTA


India, ASEAN set $70 b trade targetMarch 2, 2011

More In: Economy | Business