Zavaray Poonawalla elected RWITC chairman

Zavaray Poonawalla was elected Chairman of the Royal Western India Turf Club Ltd (RWITC), by the newly-elected members of the managing committee, at the 104th Annual General Meeting held at the Nehru Centre, Mumbai, on Wednesday.

Geoffrey Nagpal retained his post as the Chairman of Stewards of the club, as per the decision of the new managing committee.

Zavaray Poonawalla, who contested after a gap of three years because of health reasons, topped the list with 836 votes.

Sunil Jhangiani (676) and Vivek Jain (576) failed to get a place in the nine-member managing committee. Hoshang Nazir (778 votes) and Dilip Goculdas (753) were elected to the board of appeal.

Elected members: Zavaray Poonawalla (836 votes), Zinia Lawyer (796), Geoffrey Nagpal (745), Khushroo Dhunjibhoy (742), Surendra Sanas (739), Milan Luthria (732), Jaydev Mody (698), Ram Shroff (686) and Vijay Shirke (685).

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 28, 2020 1:54:20 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/sport/races/zavaray-poonawalla-elected-rwitc-chairman/article29394258.ece

Next Story