Other Sports

NBA announces team of all-time greats

Michael Jordan.   | Photo Credit: Richard Heathcote

Michael Jordan, Oscar Robertson, Wilt Chamberlain, Bill Russell and LeBron James highlight the National Basketball Association’s 75th anniversary team which was announced on Thursday. The members of the team have won a total of 158 NBA championships and amassed 730 All-Star selections.

A panel of voters were asked to choose the 75 greatest players of all-time, but the league ended up settling on 76. They did not rank the players by number or position.

There are six international stars from a half dozen countries, comprising Giannis Antetokounmpo (Greece), Patrick Ewing (Jamaica), Steve Nash (Canada), Dirk Nowitzki (Germany) and Hakeem Olajuwon (Nigeria) and Tim Duncan (US Virgin Islands).

Eleven active players also got the nod: Antetokounmpo, James, Carmelo Anthony, Stephen Curry, Anthony Davis, Kevin Durant, James Harden, Kawhi Leonard, Damian Lillard, Chris Paul and Russell Westbrook.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 7, 2021 4:13:02 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/sport/other-sports/nba-announces-team-of-all-time-greats/article37131198.ece

Next Story