Vishnu, Jehan and Kush win

Vishnu Prasad (Senior Max) and Jehan Daruvala (Junior Max) recorded their first wins of the season while little Kush Maini (Micro Max) extended his dominance as the fourth round of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship concluded here on Sunday.

The 17-year old Prasad (Meco Racing) fought off the challenge of Ameya Bafna (Rayo Racing), winner of the third round in Coimbatore last month, and also championship leader Chittesh Mandody (Mohite's Racing) to record a satisfying win.

Prasad made significant progress in the championship standings, moving from seventh to fourth while Mandody, despite a third place finish here, retained his top spot.

The Junior Max pre-final and final witnessed stiff competition but the 12-year old Daruvala from Mumbai kept his focus to clinch his first win of the season.

“I was focused on a good start which I managed. Thereafter, I was determined to put in consistent laps and I am very happy with my win,” said Daruvala who now leads his class with 344 points.

Arjun Maini, winner of the three previous races, was involved in a collision in the pre-final race. But starting the final from 10th position, the 13-year old from Bangalore eventually finished third.

The other Maini sibling, Kush, drove his own race in the Micro Max class which he dominated from start to finish and posted his fourth consecutive win in the championship this season.

The results (all finals): Senior Max (22 laps): 1.Vishnu Prasad (Meco Racing 15:34.534s), 2. Ameya Bafna (Rayo Racing 15:38.038), 3. Chittesh Mandody (Mohite's Racing 15:44.922s).

Junior Max (20 laps): 1. Jehan Daruvala (Rayo Racing 14:11.565s), 2. Krishnaraj Mahadik (Mohite's Racing 14:16.130s), 3. Arjun Maini (Maini Racing 14:20.720s).

Micro Max (15 laps): 1. Kush Maini (Maini Racing 11:48.825s), 2. Abhirath Shetty (Meco Racing 12:05.897s), 3. Kavin Lazarus (Mohite's Racing 12:06.148s).

Championship standings (after 4 rounds): Senior Max: 1. Mandody (342), 2. A. Sandeep Kumar (312), 3. Raj Ganatra (308).

Junior Max: 1. Daruvala (344), 2. Arjun Maini (323), 3. Mahadik (320).

Micro Max: 1. Kush Maini (222.5), 2. Pradhymna Danigond (201). 3. Akash Gowda (200).

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 30, 2020 7:59:39 PM |

Next Story