Indian team for Nehru Cup


National coach Wim Koevermans, on Sunday, announced a 20-member Indian team for the Nehru Cup football tournament to be held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, here from August 22.

The team includes two India under-22 players, Alwyn George and Manandeep Singh, who participated in the AFC U-22 Championship in Muscat.

“I am confident about the abilities of my boys,” said Koevermans.

“The practice sessions have been good. It’s nice to see the boys pushing each other,” he added.

Defending champion India will take on Syria in the opening match.

The team: Goalkeepers: Subrata Pal, Subhasish Roychowdhury, Karanjeet Singh.

Defenders: Nirmal Chhetri, Denzil Franco, Gouramangi Singh, Gurwinder Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Syed Rahim Nabi.

Midfielders: Lenny Rodrigues, Mehtab Hossain, Jewel Raja, Francis Fernandes, Alwyn George, Anthony Pereira, Sanju Pradhan, Clifford Miranda.

Forwards: Robin Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Manandeep Singh.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Sport Football
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 12, 2019 11:41:08 AM |

Next Story