FIFA 2014

Five classic Germany-Argentina clashes


Germany will face Argentina for the third time in a World Cup final at the Maracana in Rio de Janeiro on Sunday.

It will also be the third consecutive World Cup that the two sides have met with Germany emerging victorious on two occasions.

Here, AFP sports takes a look at five classic clashes between the two:

1986 final: Argentina 3 West Germany 2

Argentina claimed its second World Cup in what is remembered as Diego Maradona’s competition in one of the most thrilling finals of all time.

Goals from Jose Luis Brown and Jorge Valdano either side of half-time seemed to have the Argentines well on course for victory, but two goals in seven minutes from Karl-Heinz Rummenigge and Rudi Voeller brought Germany level.

However, despite not scoring in the final himself, Maradona made a vital contribution as his pass set Jorge Burruchaga clear to slot home the winner four minutes from time.

1990 final: West Germany 1 Argentina 0

Four years later it was the same two sides in the final, but far less of a spectacle as the Germans got their revenge with a 1-0 win thanks to Andreas Brehme’s controversial penalty five minutes from time.

In an ill-tempered game, Argentina ended with nine men after Pedro Monzon and Gustavo Dezotti received the first ever red cards in a World Cup final.

2006 quarterfinal: Germany 1 Argentina 1 (Germany won 4-2 on penalties)

In 2006 Germany surpassed measured expectations as host by reaching the semifinals after coming from behind to beat Jose Pekerman’s well-fancied Argentinian side.

Roberto Ayala had headed the South Americans’ into an early second-half lead, but the World Cup’s all-time leading scorer Miroslav Klose equalised 10 minutes from time.

Germany then extended its perfect record in World Cup penalty shootouts to four from four as Jens Lehmann saved from Ayala and Esteban Cambiasso.

2010 quarterfinal: Germany 4 Argentina 0

Germany’s young guns counter-attacked to perfection after Thomas Mueller’s early opener in the last eight in 2010 as it nullified the threat of an unbalanced Argentina side under Maradona’s tutelage with all of Lionel Messi, Gonzalo Higuain and Carlos Tevez in attack.

The Germans scored three times in the final quarter as Klose added two more to his tally, whilst veteran defender Arne Friedrich also got on the scoresheet.

2012 Friendly: Germany 1 Argentina 3

The last meeting between the two ended in victory for Argentina, though, after Germany was left to play an hour with 10 men after goalkeeper Ron-Robert Zieler was sent-off for tripping Jose Sosa.

Messi’s resulting penalty was saved by new Barcelona team-mate Marc-Andre ter Stegen, but the four-time World Player of the Year made amends to double Argentina’s lead after Sami Khedira’s own goal had put the visitors in front.

Angel di Maria’s wonder strike made it 3-0 before Benedikt Hoewedes restored some pride for the Germans nine minutes from time.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 26, 2020 3:03:27 PM |

Next Story