T20 | Shivamogga Lions succumbs to Mangalore Dragons for its third loss on the trot

MAHARAJA TROPHY | The Dragons were powered by Thippa Reddy’s blitzkrieg and his crucial partnerships with M.G. Naveen and Aniruddha Joshi for the fourth and fifth wickets respectively,

Updated - August 27, 2023 07:02 pm IST

Published - August 24, 2023 09:20 pm IST - BENGALURU

Thippa Reddy’s quickfire 82 helped set up Mangalore Dragons’ victory over Shivamogga Lions

Thippa Reddy’s quickfire 82 helped set up Mangalore Dragons’ victory over Shivamogga Lions | Photo Credit: Special Arrangement

Shivamogga Lions lost its third match on the trot, succumbing to Mangalore Dragons by 15 runs in the Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Thursday.

Asked to bat first, the Dragons were powered by Thippa Reddy’s blitzkrieg (82, 47b, 11x4, 2x6). He combined for crucial partnerships with M.G. Naveen (16, 10b) and Aniruddha Joshi (34, 20b, 4x4, 1x6), for the fourth and fifth wickets respectively, pushing the total closer to 200.

A wholesome bowling performance later on, where all six of those who rolled their arms over picked up at least a wicket, helped the Mangaluru side restrict the Lions to 176 for nine and secure the win.

The Shivamogga side’s middle and lower-order batters threw their bats around, with Abhinav Manohar (25, 16b, 1x4, 2x6), Pranav Bhatia (39, 18b, 2x4, 4x6) and Kranthi Kumar (21, 7b, 5x4) scoring brisk runs. But they were left with too much to do.

Mystics beat Blasters

In the second encounter of the day, Gulbarga Mystics extended Bengaluru Blasters’ misery, handing the side its eighth loss in as many matches, beating it by five wickets.

Put into bat, the Blasters could only score 113, with no batter other than D. Nischal (36, 33b) crossing 20. Sharan Goud, the player of the match, picked up two wickets (4-0-28-2). The Mystics then made quick-work of the target with more than five overs to spare.

The scores: Mangalore Dragons 191/7 in 20 overs (Thippa Reddy 82, Aniruddha Joshi 34, Aditya Somanna 3/38) bt Shivamogga Lions 176/9 in 20 overs (Rohan Kadam 25, Abhinav Manohar 25, Pranav Bhatia 39); PoM: Thippa Reddy.

Bengaluru Blasters 113 in 19.3 overs (D. Nischal 36, Abhilash Shetty 3/19, D. Avinash 3/22) lost to Gulbarga Mystics 114/5 in 14.5 overs (Macneil Noronha 28, R. Smaran 29); PoM: Sharan Goud.

Friday’s matches: Bengaluru Blasters vs. Mysuru Warriors; Hubli Tigers vs. Shivamogga Lions.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.