India to play five one-dayers and three T20s in New Zealand

Women’s and A-teams, too, to tour the country apart from the men’s team

July 31, 2018 09:58 pm | Updated August 01, 2018 09:32 am IST - Wellington

India’s tour to New Zealand early next year, which will comprise five ODIs and three T20 Internationals, will start with the first One-day International in Napier on January 23.

The opener will be followed by two matches in Mount Maunganui on January 26 and 28, Hamilton on Janaury 31 and the final 50-over game in Wellington on February 3.

T20 caravan

The three-match T20I series will start on February 6 in Wellington, followed by matches in Auckland on February 8 and Hamilton on February 10.

Besides, the Indian women’s teams will also feature in three T20I double-headers in early February.

Prior to the T20Is, the Indian and New Zealand women’s teams will also square off in three ICC Women’s Championship fixtures that will help to identify seven direct qualifiers (excluding the hosts) for the 2021 Women’s World Cup to be held in New Zealand.

Successive days

According to the fixture announced by New Zealand Cricket on Tuesday, the men’s and women’s ODIs between India and New Zealand will be played over consecutive days in Napier, Mt. Maunganui and Hamilton, and the T20s on the same days in Wellington, Auckland and Hamilton.

NZC has also deferred the start of all games, barring the second T20I in Auckland on February 8, by one hour as per its agreement with India’s host broadcaster.

8 p.m. start for T20Is

While the first and third T20Is will begin at 8 p.m. local time, the Auckland game will start an hour earlier.

All five ODIs between the men’s teams will start at 3 p.m. local time.

The India-A side’s visit to New Zealand corresponds with NZC’s increased investment in the A-programme, as announced in the new NZC-NZCPA Master Agreement, last week. It will feature three four-dayers in Mt. Maunganui, Seddon Park and Cobham Oval, respectively, and three 50-over fixtures — all to be played at the Bay Oval.

Tour itinerary

1st ODI : January 23, Napier;

2nd ODI : January 26, Mt. Maunganui;

3rd ODI : January 28, Mount Maunganui;

4th ODI : January 31, Hamilton;

5th ODI : February 3, Wellington.


1st T20I : February 6, Wellington;

2nd T20I : February 8, Auckland;

3rd T20I : February 10, Hamilton .

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.