Flying Dutchmen take the wind out of Proteas’ sails

After Edwards’ unbeaten 78 lifts the Men in Orange to 245, the bowlers strike regularly to leave Bavuma’s men shattered; van der Merwe puts on an allround show against his former national team

October 17, 2023 08:47 pm | Updated October 19, 2023 01:31 pm IST - Dharamshala

Netherlands bowler Logan van Beek celebrates a wicket during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 match against South Africa in Dharamsala, on October 17, 2023.

Netherlands bowler Logan van Beek celebrates a wicket during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 match against South Africa in Dharamsala, on October 17, 2023. | Photo Credit: R.V. Moorthy

South Africa’s unhappy knack of slipping on banana skins surfaced yet again as Netherlands beat the Rainbow Nation by 38 runs for only its third World Cup match-win.

In the rain-shortened 43-overs-a-side affair at the HPCA stadium on Tuesday, the in-form Proteas had to chase 246, way more than they should have after having the Dutchmen at 50 for four.

But in a train wreck of a pursuit, Temba Bavuma & Co. wilted to lose its second straight match to the Netherlands at an ICC event after the stunning reverse in the 2022 T20 World Cup.

Quinton de Kock gloved one behind off Colin Ackermann; Bavuma was bowled after failing to read an arm-ball from Roelof van der Merwe (a former South Africa international); Aiden Markram’s stumps were rearranged by Paul van Meekeren.

Rassie van der Dussen tried a pressure-releasing reverse sweep off van der Merwe but it travelled straight to backward-point. As South Africa reeled at 44 for four, Heinrich Klaasen (28, 28b, 4x4) and David Miller (43, 52b, 4x4, 1x6) resisted by putting on 45 runs.

But Klaasen hit a perfectly timed pull to Vikramjit Singh’s throat at fine-leg and Miller was castled by Logan van Beek. The South African tail wagged, but the victory was nowhere in sight.

Earlier, on a lively pitch, the Netherlands top-order struggled against the pace quartet of Lungi Ngidi, Marco Jansen, Kagiso Rabada and Gerald Coetzee. But skipper Scott Edwards’ industriousness (78 n.o., 69b, 10x4, 1x6) and some heavy hitting by No. 9 van der Merwe (29, 19b, 3x4, 1x6) and No. 10 Aryan Dutt (23 n.o., 9b, 3x6) resurrected the outfit.

Coming in at 82 for five, Edwards first swept his way out of Keshav Maharaj’s web, with the bat almost resembling a groundsman’s broom. The 27-year-old collected 30 of his 78 runs off Maharaj.

Edwards then went after Rabada, whacking a six over deep square-leg and backing it up with a hit to the cover fence to bring up his half-century.

From the other end, van der Merwe wielded the willow like an unorthodox sword fighter. What followed was some comical but effective batting as he slayed a six and dabbed a four to the third-man area.

Edwards and van der Merwe put on 64 for the eighth wicket off just 36 balls as the score went past 200. The lanky Dutt then clobbered three sixes on the leg-side, much to the delight of the boisterous, underdog-loving crowd.

The unbroken ninth-wicket stand of 41 (19b) gave the total a winning halo.


NETHERLANDS: Vikramjit Singh c Klaasen b Rabada 2 (16b), Max O’Dowd c de Kock b Jansen 18 (25b, 4x4), Colin Ackermann b Coetzee 12 (25b, 1x4), Bas de Leede lbw b Rabada 2 (7b), Sybrand Engelbrecht c Jansen b Ngidi 19 (37b, 1x4, 1x6), Teja Nidamanuru lbw b Jansen 20 (25b, 3x4), Scott Edwards (not out) 78 (69b, 10x4, 1x6), Logan van Beek st. de Kock b Maharaj 10 (27b, 1x4), Roelof van der Merwe c de Kock b Ngidi 29 (19b, 3x4, 1x6), Aryan Dutt (not out) 23 (9b, 3x6); Extras (lb-10, w-21, nb-1): 32.

Total (for eight wkts. in 43 overs): 245.

FALL OF WICKETS: 1-22 (Vikramjit, 6.1 overs), 2-24 (O’Dowd, 7.1), 3-40 (de Leede, 10.5), 4-50 (Ackermann, 15.1), 5-82 (Engelbrecht, 20.2), 6-112 (Nidamanuru, 26.6), 7-140 (van Beek, 33.5), 8-204 (van der Merwe, 39.5).

SOUTH AFRICA BOWLING: Ngidi 9-1-57-2, Jansen 8-1-27-2, Rabada 9-1-56-2, Coetzee 8-0-57-1, Maharaj 9-0-38-1.

SOUTH AFRICA: Temba Bavuma b van der Merwe 16 (31b, 2x4, 1x6), Quinton de Kock c Edwards b Ackermann 20 (22b, 3x4), Rassie van der Dussen c Dutt b van der Merwe 4 (7b), Aiden Markram b van Meekeren 1 (3b), Heinrich Klaasen c Vikramjit b van Beek 28 (28b, 4x4), David Miller b van Beek 43 (52b, 4x4, 1x6), Marco Jansen b van Meekeren 9 (25b), Gerald Coetzee c Edwards b de Leede 22 (23b, 2x4, 1x6), Keshav Maharaj c Edwards b van Beek 40 (37b, 5x4, 1x6), Kagiso Rabada c Engelbrecht b de Leede 9 (6b, 1x6), Lungi Ngidi (not out) 7 (24b); Extras (lb-2, w-5, nb-1): 8.

Total (in 42.5 overs): 207.

FALL OF WICKETS: 1-36 (de Kock, 7.6), 2-39 (Bavuma, 9.1), 3-42 (Markram, 10.2), 4-44 (van der Dussen, 11.2), 5-89 (Klaasen, 18.5), 6-109 (Jansen, 24.6), 7-145 (Miller, 30.6), 8-147 (Coetzee, 33.1), 9-166 (Rabada, 35.1).

NETHERLANDS BOWLING: Dutt 5-1-19-0, van Beek 8.5-0-60-3, Ackermann 3-0-16-1, van Meekeren 9-0-40-2, van der Merwe 9-0-34-2, de Leede 8-0-36-2.

Toss: South Africa.

Netherlands won by 38 runs.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.