Australia vs India | Hardik-Jadeja pair and speedsters bring India some cheer

The visitors pull one back to finish on a winning note even as the Aussies clinch the series 2-1

Updated - December 02, 2020 09:02 pm IST

Published - December 02, 2020 09:42 am IST - Canberra

Jasprit Bumrah, third left, is congratulated by teammates after bowling Australia's Glenn Maxwell during their one day international cricket match at Manuka Oval in Canberra, Australia, Wednesday, Dec. 2, 2020

Jasprit Bumrah, third left, is congratulated by teammates after bowling Australia's Glenn Maxwell during their one day international cricket match at Manuka Oval in Canberra, Australia, Wednesday, Dec. 2, 2020

India all-rounder Hardik Pandya scored his highest one-day international score of 92 to set up a thrilling 13-run win for his team against Australia in the third match at the Manuka Oval on Wednesday and avoid a clean sweep in the series.

Hardik’s unbeaten knock in 76 deliveries featured seven fours and one six and he added 150 in an entertaining unbroken stand for the sixth-wicket with Ravindra Jadeja to help India post 302 for five.

Turning point

The host seemed cruising in its chase but India’s pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah dismissed Glenn Maxwell with Australia 35 runs away from a win to turn the game in his team’s favour.

Bumrah returned in the last over to take the final Australian wicket to bundle the home team out for 289, with three deliveries remaining.

Maxwell fell for 59 off 38 balls and one of his four sixes landed on the top of the roof of the stadium in Australia’s capital city.

Australia captain Aaron Finch top-scored with 75 to set up the chase after a charmed life during which he was dropped twice early in his innings and also survived a run out chance.

Shardul Thakur was one of the four changes in the Indian side and was the most successful bowler with 3-51, while Bumrah and debutant T. Natarajan picked up two wickets each.

Australia had already bagged the series with two victories in as many matches in Sydney and the hosts also made three changes to their team.

India won the toss for the first time in the series and opted to bat, having failed to chase Australia’s score in the previous two matches.

Australian bowlers, however, kept the batsmen under check and reduced them to 152 for five in the 32nd over when India captain Virat Kohli was out for 63 to fast bowler Josh Hazlewood for the third time in the series.

During his knock, Kohli became the fastest batsmen to reach 12,000 runs in the 50-over format, reaching the milestone in his 242nd innings.

The 32-year-old Kohli broke the record of India batting great and all-time leading run-scorer Sachin Tendulkar, who reached the milestone in 300 innings.

Jadeja, who smashed five fours and three sixes in his unbeaten 66 off 50 balls, and Hardik added 76 from the last five overs to give India a late boost.

The two sides will next play three T20 matches, starting with the first on Friday at the same venue.


INDIA: Shikhar Dhawan c Agar b Abbott 16 (27b, 2x4) , Shubman Gill lbw b Agar 33 (39b, 3x4, 1x6) , Virat Kohli c Carey b Hazlewood 63 (78b, 5x4) , Shreyas Iyer c Labuschagne b Zampa 19 (21b, 2x4) , K.L. Rahul lbw b Agar 5 (11b) , Hardik Pandya (not out) 92 (76b, 7x4, 1x6) , Ravindra Jadeja (not out) 66 (50b, 5x4, 3x6) ; Extras (b-1, lb-1, w-4, nb-2): 8; Total (for five wkts. in 50 overs): 302.

FALL OF WICKETS: 1-26 (Dhawan, 5.5 overs), 2-82 (Gill, 15.4), 3-114 (Shreyas, 22.4), 4-123 (Rahul, 25.3), 5-152 (Kohli, 31.6).

AUSTRALIA BOWLING: Hazlewood 10-1-66-1, Maxwell 5-0-27-0, Abbott 10-0-84-1, Green 4-0-27-0, Agar 10-0-44-2, Zampa 10-0-45-1, Henriques 1-0-7-0.

AUSTRALIA: Marnus Labuschagne b Natarajan 7 (13b, 1x4) , Aaron Finch c Dhawan b Jadeja 75 (82b, 7x4, 3x6) , Steve Smith c Rahul b Shardul 7 (15b) , Moises Henriques c Dhawan b Shardul 22 (31b, 3x4) , Cameron Green c Jadeja b Kuldeep 21 (27b, 1x4, 1x6) , Alex Carey run out 38 (42b, 4x4) , Glenn Maxwell b Bumrah 59 (38b, 3x4, 4x6) , Ashton Agar c Kuldeep b Natarajan 28 (28b, 2x4) , Sean Abbott c Rahul b Shardul 4 (9b) , Adam Zampa lbw b Bumrah 4 (7b) , Josh Hazlewood (not out) 7 (7b) ; Extras (lb-6, w-9, nb-2): 17; Total (in 49.3 overs): 289.

FALL OF WICKETS: 1-25 (Labuschagne, 5.1), 2-56 (Smith, 11.2), 3-117 (Henriques, 22.2) 4-123 (Finch, 25.3), 5-158 (Green, 30.5), 6-210 (Carey, 37.4), 7-268 (Maxwell, 44.3), 8-278 (Abbott, 46.6), 9-278 (Agar, 47.1).

INDIA BOWLING: Bumrah 9.3-0-43-2, Natarajan 10-1-70-2 , Shardul 10-1-51-3, Kuldeep 10-0-57-1, Jadeja 10-0-62-1.

Toss: India.

Man-of-the-Match: Hardik.

Man-of-the-series: Smith.

India won by 13 runs, Australia clinched series 2-1.

Next match

First T20I: December 4, Canberra, 1.40 p.m. IST.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.