American College in semifinals


American College School (Madurai) defeated Santhome HSS 52-26 in the quarterfinals of the Mahendran Memorial State-level basketball tournament on Tuesday.

The results (quarterfinals): NSVV (Pattiveeranpatti) 61 (Jevanandan 11, Vignesh 12) bt St. Joseph’s 36 (Navin 10).

American College School (Madurai) 52 (Anuganath 12, Muthumumar 12) bt Santhome 26 (Sruthish 17).

Sai (Salem) 56 (Bharathidasan 17, Muinbek 12) bt NLC Sports (Neyveli) 37 (Sundaraj 10).

Sethu shines

J. Sethu Raman struck an unbeaten half-century to lead Jupiter to a 62-run win over Egmore Club in the TNCA IV division ‘A’ match played here.

The scores: IV division ‘A’: Jupiter 185 for seven in 42 overs (J. Sethu Raman 61 n.o., G. Vijay Kumar 46, S. Surendar 32, L. Venkata Narayanan three for 67) bt Egmore Club 123 for nine in 42 overs (P.N. Baskaran 48 n.o., P. Goutham four for 32).

V division ‘C’: Haranath CC 138 for eight in 31 overs (M. Sriram 52, S. Tarun Srinivas four for 32) lost to Kamyuth Club 141 for eight in 30.2 overs (V. Manikandan three for 24).

Trophy shared

PBBC (Palani) and TBBC (Tiruvottiyur) were declared joint winners of the CPCL Trophy State-level ball badminton tournament after bad light stopped play in the final. PBBC was leading 24-14 at that stage.

Other results (semifinals): TBBC bt NRBC (Coimbatore) 29-15, 29-22; PBBC bt JBBC (Jolarpet) 29-13, 29-12.

Arunkumar & Ganapathy win

Arunkumar and S. Ganapathy won the TNSC weekly bridge tournament with a score of 69.13 IMPs playing north-south. Playing from east-west direction, T.M. Suri and Rajaraman came first with a score of 61.17 IMPs.

Other placings: North-South: 2. Srihari Verghese and Sunil Verghese; 3. Baskar and C. Anandan.

East-West: 2. V.G. Gowri and T.M. Ravindran; 3. Sandip Dang and Jain.

Ball-badminton tourney

St. Joseph’s College of Engineering will conduct an all-India invitation ball badminton championship from July 22 to 24 for men. The tournament will feature 17 teams from across the country.

The total prize money is Rs. 1 lakh with the winner taking home Rs. 40,000, the runner-up Rs. 30,000. The third and fourth-placed teams will receive Rs. 20,000 and Rs.10,000 respectively.

TT tournament

The Mylapore Club- Sportstar city school students’ table tennis tournament for non-rankers will be held from July 26 to 29 at the Mylapore Club. Entries are to be sent on or before July 23. For details call ph: 2499 5315.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Chennai Sport
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 9, 2019 11:07:09 AM |

Next Story