Winners of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology 2018 announced 

Dr Aditi Sen De is the only female winner this year

September 26, 2018 05:00 pm | Updated 05:03 pm IST

On the occasion of its foundation day, the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) has put out the list of recipients of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology for 2018.

Every year, several scientists below the age of 45 are selected from various institutions across the country and awarded for their outstanding scientific work in the last five years.

Here is the full list of winners this year in various categories




Biological Sciences

Dr Ganesh NagarajuIISc Bengaluru
 Dr Thomas PucadyilIISER Pune

Chemical Sciences

Dr Rahul BanerjeeIISER Kolkata
 Dr Swadhin Kumar MandalIISER Kolkata

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences

Dr Madineni Venkat RatnamNational Atmospheric Research Laboratory, Tirupati
 Dr Parthasarathi ChakrabortyCSIR-NIO, Goa

Engineering Sciences

Dr Amit AgrawalIIT Bombay
 Dr Ashwin Anil GumasteIIT Bombay

Mathematical Sciences

Dr Amit KumarIIT Delhi
 Dr Nitin SaxenaIIT Kanpur

Medical Sciences

Dr Ganesan VenkatasubramanianNIMHANS, Bengaluru

Physical Sciences

Dr Aditi Sen DeHarish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad
 Dr Ambarish GhoshIISc Bengaluru


Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.