Reporting based on NSA leaks wins Polk Award

Four journalists who reported on the extent of the U.S. National Security Agency’s secret surveillance based on documents leaked by whistle-blower Edward Snowden are among the winners of the 65th annual George Polk Awards in Journalism.

Glenn Greenwald, Ewen MacAskill and Laura Poitras of The Guardian and Barton Gellman of The Washington Post will receive the award for national security reporting for stories based on secret documents leaked by Mr. Snowden, a former intelligence analyst. The awards were announced on Sunday by Long Island University. They were created in 1949 in honour of CBS reporter George W. Polk, who was killed while covering the Greek civil war.

Journalists who wrote about massive traffic jams caused by bridge lane closures in New Jersey, a catastrophic garment factory collapse in Bangladesh and the struggles of a homeless family in Brooklyn also will be among those honoured.

This year’s Polk Awards will be given out on April 11, 2014.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 3, 2022 7:45:17 pm |