‘Three capitals’ for A.P. | Will bring a ‘comprehensive, complete and better’ bill, says Jagan

Andhra Pradesh Assembly passes bill to repeal Act intending three capitals for the State

Updated - November 22, 2021 05:40 pm IST

Published - November 22, 2021 04:15 pm IST - Amaravati

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy. File photo: Special Arrangement

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy. File photo: Special Arrangement

The Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly on November 22 passed a Bill to repeal the controversial A.P. Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Act, 2020, that was intended to establish three capitals for the State.

Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, however, told the Assembly his Government would bring a “comprehensive, complete and better” Decentralisation Bill.

The 2020 Act was being repealed to protect the larger interests of people.

“Our intention of a decentralised development of the State has been twisted, distorted and a misinformation launched. Also, legal hurdles were created and court cases filed,” the Chief Minister alleged.

Without referring to the farmers of Amaravati region, who had been fighting the three capitals decision for more than 700 days now, Mr. Jagan said the government would explain “our genuine intention and the need for decentralisation” to all concerned and incorporate necessary changes in the new Bill.

The government had earlier hinted A.P. could have three capitals — Executive capital in Visakhapatnam and the Legislative capital in Amaravati and Judiciary capital in Kurnool.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.