Somarapu’s candidature opposed in Ramagundam

K. Chander, Sandhya Rani may constest as independents

Published - September 10, 2018 12:30 am IST - PEDDAPALLI

Resentment is brewing among the Telangana Rashtra Samithi leaders and the ticket aspirants against the allocation of the party ticket to sitting legislator Somarapu Satyanarayana from the Ramagundam Assembly constituency for the ensuing elections in the Peddapalli district.

Even before the announcement of the party ticket to the sitting legislator by Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao, the TRS leaders of the Ramagundam Assembly constituency led by ticket aspirant Korukanti Chander, former Mayor Konkati Laxminarayana, former Deputy Mayor Saganti Shankar, Ramagundam ZPTC member Sandhya Rani and others assembled at a function hall and passed a resolution opposing the party ticket to the sitting legislator and even threatened to defeat him if the party allocates a ticket.

Irked over the allocation of the party ticket to Mr. Satyanarayana, Venu, a supporter of Korukanti Chander climbed a water tank and threatened to commit suicide. Sagar and Santosh, the supporters of Ramagundam ZPTC member Sandhya Rani made a vain suicide bid by dousing themselves with kerosene in Godavarikhani flaying the party high command for denying ticket to Sandhya.

K. Chander had aspired for the party ticket during the 2014 elections, but was denied. Incidentally, Mr. Chander and Ms. Sandhya Rani, who had earlier announced that they would work for the party if any one of them secured the party ticket, raised a banner of revolt against the party high command.

They have gone a step ahead and even threatened to contest elections as independents from the Ramagundam Assembly constituency. On the other hand, the former Mayor Laxminarayana and his deputy Shankar, who had lost their posts following the no-confidence motion moved by the corporators of the Ramagundam Municipal Corporation, at the behest of the Ramagundam legislator recently, were vehemently opposing the candidature of Mr. Satyanarayana from the constituency and they openly stated that they would defeat him in the elections.

Barring Telangana State Police Housing Corporation Chairman Koleti Damodar, all other leaders of the Ramagundam constituency were opposing the candidature of Mr. Satyanarayana.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.