New faces in Cabinet likely

Telangana Rashtra Samithi MLAs K.T. Rama Rao (L) and T. Harish Rao likely to be inducted into cabinet.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi MLAs K.T. Rama Rao (L) and T. Harish Rao likely to be inducted into cabinet.   | Photo Credit: Arrangement

Three members of earlier Cabinet reportedly out of consideration

At least three hopefuls in the Cabinet of TRS government were said to have been sounded out by Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao that they cannot expect a place in his team which he proposed to constitute partially by the month end and complete it, may be, after Parliament elections in April-May.

Of the three, two were part of the previous Cabinet of Mr. Rao but reportedly being shown the door for reasons of performance. One of them, though known for his integrity and loyalty to party, was found wanting in discharge of his duties as a minister as he confined himself to his constituency and, the other, was blamed for neither asserting himself in government nor creating an impact in the department that he headed.

The third hopeful was a member of the Legislative Council whose term will come to an end in March. He was promised a Ministerial berth shortly after Mr. Rao took over as Chief Minister in the previous term but could not be accommodated and instead given a plum assignment.

These apart, Mr. Rao has already ruled out inducting the four Ministers who lost elections — P. Mahender Reddy, A. Chandulal, Jupally Krishna Rao and Tummala Nageswara Rao. Three other ministers from Hyderabad and Adilabad were also said to be doubtful starters.

Automatic inclusion

Sources said among those who will walk in automatically in the first batch will be former ministers K.T. Rama Rao and T. Harish Rao. Mr. Eatala Rajender and Mr. Pocharam Srinivas Reddy may make it if they were not considered for the post of Speaker of Assembly. Mr. V. Prashant Reddy from erstwhile Nizamabad was likely to be considered if the mantle of Speaker fell on Mr. Srinivas Reddy.

Mr. Prashant Reddy, Mr. S. Nirajan Reddy from Mahabubnagar, Mr. D. Vinay Bhaskar from Warangal and Ms. Rekha Naik from Adilabad who will all be first time ministers were said to be hot favourites at the cost of seniors from their respective districts. Ms. Padma Devender Reddy from Medak may also be first time minister if she was not made the Speaker. Another leader from Warangal E. Dayakar Rao may have to wait till the induction of next batch.

District representation

Sources added that Hyderabad and Ranga Reddy districts might be considered as a single block for giving representation because Mr. P. Mahender Reddy who hailed from the latter lost polls. He was inducted in the previous term solely on his own strength. Apart from two ministers from Hyderabad who were likely to be relieved, there may not be any changes in representation to the city, Nalgonda and Mahabubnagar except Mr. Krishna Rao who lost polls.

On the other hand, the post of Speaker has become ticklish with none wanting to accept it for sentimental reasons. Everyone who held the post since D. Sripada Rao lost the elections at the end of the term.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 9, 2020 5:30:49 AM |

Next Story