Debt Commission chief post in jeopardy


Ordinance not replaced by Act

The Revenue Department appears to have landed in a piquant situation with regard to the appointment of Chairman of the State Debt Relief Commission.

The Government had constituted the body through TS Commission for Debt Relief (Small Farmers, Agricultural Labour and Rural Artisans) Act 2016 headed by a chairman and five members. The appointment of the members of the commission followed the enactment of the legislation but the appointment of the chairman was delayed as the Act prescribed that a retired judge should head the Commission.

The government had subsequently issued an Ordinance on June 24 facilitating appointment of a ‘noted person’ having experience in the field of agriculture, finance and law as the chairman of the commission. N. Venkateswarlu was appointed as the chairman of the debt relief panel in July.

The Ordinance appointing a “noted person” has however lapsed on December 23 after the six month deadline throwing the fate of the commission chairman into jeopardy following dissolution of the Assembly and advanced elections. Sources said The officials concerned are examining the legal position for continuation of Mr. Venkateswarlu as the chairman of the panel.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Telangana
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 29, 2020 7:25:30 PM |

Next Story