Kanimozhi is DMK’s Parliamentary party leader

Updated - June 11, 2024 04:13 pm IST

Published - June 10, 2024 09:32 pm IST - Chennai



DMK MP Kanimozhi, elected from the Thoothukudi Lok Sabha constituency, has been appointed as the party’s parliamentary party leader. She has replaced seven-time MP T.R. Baalu, who will now head the party in the Lok Sabha.

In a statement on Monday, DMK president and Chief Minister M.K. Stalin said that Dayanidhi Maran, representing the Chennai Central constituency, will be the deputy leader of the party in the Lok Sabha. A. Raja, elected from the Nilgiris constituency, will be the Whip in the Lok Sabha.

Tiruchi N. Siva has been appointed as the leader of the DMK in the Rajya Sabha, while M. Shanmugam, who is also the general secretary of the LPF, the trade union of the DMK, will be his deputy. Senior advocate P. Wilson has been made the Whip in the Rajya Sabha.

S. Jagathratchagan, the Arakkonam MP, will be the treasurer of the DMK in both the Houses.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.