Saudi King to chair Thursday’s G20 virtual summit

For 2020, Spain, Jordan Singapore and Switzerland are the invited countries

March 25, 2020 02:12 pm | Updated 02:14 pm IST - NEW DELHI

File picture of Saudi Arabia’s King  Salman bin Abdulaziz  al-Saud.

File picture of Saudi Arabia’s King Salman bin Abdulaziz al-Saud.

Leaders of the G20 group of nations will hold a video conference on Thursday. The virtual summit will be led by King Salman bin Abdulaziz al Saud of Saudi Arabia which is the current president of the economic grouping.

Also read | India an important asset for global community to fight against coronavirus: Saudi envoy

“G20 members will be joined by leaders from invited countries, Spain, Jordan, Singapore, and Switzerland as well as international organisations, the United Nations, the World Bank Group, the World Health Organisation and the World Trade Organisation, the Food and Agriculture Organisation, the International Monetary Fund, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development,” said a statement issued by the Saudi authorities.

Apart from 19 of the biggest economies of the world, G20 also includes the European Union. For 2020, Spain, Jordan Singapore and Switzerland are the invited countries.

Also read | From virtual conferencing to real leadership

For Prime Minister Narendra Modi, this will be the second virtual leadership summit after the video summit of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) that he had initiated. The SAARC virtual summit held on March 15 led to the creation of the SAARC COVID-19 Emergency Fund . It is expected that the G20 virtual summit will yield a detailed plan for confronting the pandemic caused by the novel coronavirus known as COVID-19 .

Leaders of the grouping had been in contact over the last few weeks and held preparatory consultations. External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar discussed the upcoming virtual summit with his Chinese counterpart Wang Yi on Tuesday. “Global challenges require global cooperation,” he said after his conversation.

Elaborating on the video conference of Thursday, a Saudi press release informed that Vietnam will represent the Association of the Southeast Asian Nations, South Africa will represent the African Union, the United Arab Emirates will represent the Gulf Cooperation Council and Rwanda will represent the New Partnership for Africa’s Development.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.