President dissolves 15th Lok Sabha

EC hands over new MPs list to President

Updated - November 17, 2021 03:37 am IST

Published - May 18, 2014 06:58 pm IST - New Delhi

The formal process for constitution of the new Lok Sabha commenced on Sunday evening with the full Election Commission handing over the list of members of the 16th Lok Sabha to President Pranab Mukherjee. The President also dissolved the 15th Lok Sabha.

The full Commission comprising Chief Election Commissioner V.S. Sampath and Election Commissioners H.S. Brahma and Nasim Zaidi approved the Section 73 notification under the Representation of the People Act, 1951, notifying the names of the members elected.

In the 2009 Lok Sabha polls, the “due constitution” list was handed over to President Pratibha Patil on May 18, two days after the counting of votes.

This election, which has given a clear majority to a single party for the first time in three decades, would go down as one of the most intensely fought in the electoral history of Independent India. In 1977 and 1989, it was a case of the Congress vs. the rest of the political opposition. This time it was Narendra Modi vs. the Congress and the rest of the divided opposition.

The long-drawn exercise began on March 5, the day the general election schedule was announced. It might have appeared to be the longest ever election but the fact is it was two days shorter than the last election.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.